In which yours truly gives some pointers on the path to completing the Sencha blouse

Hey all!  Last week I showed you my new Sencha blouse so this week I thought I might share with you some ideas for getting the Sencha Top pattern from Colette Patterns to fit.  Additionally if you would like to use your muslin as a pattern and/or add French Seams throughout (great for very light fabrics), I’ve covered those as well.  Now this could make for a very dull post indeed (particularly if you have no intention of making a Sencha blouse) so I’m sharing my tips with you in a pdf document!


 

**Edit:  French Seaming this blouse is not totally straightforward- but it can be done with a little rearrangement of the steps.  If you’d like to French Seam your Sencha then do grab a copy of the tips and tricks document- there’s a step by step section right in there.**


 

Grey Sencha Blouse from Colette Patterns side view

“When I started fitting my Sencha using a muslin I was a bit stymied.  I turned to sewing blogs to help and encountered similar fit problems to my own muslin’s- my fit problems were:

  • A very high neckline- this is part of the beauty of the blouse but it needed to be more comfy around my throat!
  • vertical fabric lines dropping down the back- an indication of too much room at the back
  • horizontal fabric crease lines across the bust- an indication of too little room in the front around the arms and/or bust
  • the armholes just felt too tight”

You can click here to grab your own copy  of Tips for Sewing Your Sencha Top

So guys, since this is a first for us let’s just say I’d really welcome kind feedback- feel free to drop me a line!

abitofanenthusiast signature

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “In which yours truly gives some pointers on the path to completing the Sencha blouse

  1. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!! I do believe this is your first proper tutorial and I really like how you have created a separate document for it so you don’t make your post too daunting. Also, the beauty of the pdf is that you can print it off and refer to it when you start working on the blouse. Well done and keep up the wonderful work. xxx

    Like

  2. Pingback: Second Serving | Rue des Renards

Leave a Reply

